Judges Honor Lawmakers For Supporting Equal, Independent Arkansas Courts

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

June 13, 2019
For more information, contact:
Marty Sullivan 

Judges Honor Lawmakers For Supporting Equal, Independent Arkansas Courts
Hon. John Fogleman (Marion), President of Arkansas Judicial Council, is announcing the winners of the First Branch Award, recognizing legislators for their outstanding efforts to support and improve the administration of justice in Arkansas.  

Judicial Council is the official body representing the state’s judiciary. 
Awards are being given to: 
• Rep. Matthew Shepherd (R-El Dorado); 

• Rep. Jimmy Gazaway (R-Paragould); 

• Rep. Sarah Capp (R-Ozark);

• Rep. Carol Dalby (R-Texarkana);

• Sen. Bart Hester (R-Cave Springs) 
“The Arkansas Judiciary is committed to maintaining a positive relationship with the legislative and executive branches of government to ensure the judicial branch remains equal and independent,” Director of the Administrative Office of the Courts Marty Sullivan said. 
“We appreciate these lawmakers for their work to secure a strong judicial branch and for their service to the people of the State of Arkansas.”
All four representatives receiving the award are members of the House Judiciary Committee, which reviews matters pertaining to the courts. Sen. Bart Hester is the first lawmaker to win the First Branch Award two years in a row.