Arkansas Supreme Court is Accepting Entries for Law Day Art and Essay Contest

Law day art & essay contest
The Arkansas Supreme Court is holding an art and essay contest for all Arkansas students in grades 4-12. The contest comes in advance of a Law Day ceremony, which will take place on May 1.
This year’s Law Day theme calls on us to reflect upon the freedoms that Americans have as part of the First Amendment. The First Amendment includes such freedoms as freedom of religion, freedom of speech, freedom of the press, the right to peaceful protest, and the right to petition the government.
Students entering the contest should create work about what any of these freedoms mean to them. Students can showcase their creativity through photography, writing, song, drawing, painting, a video, a collage, or another similar medium.


Entries will be accepted through April 21, 2019. Winners will be notified by April 24, 2019.


Chief Justice John Dan Kemp will present awards to the winners during the May 1 ceremony at the Justice Building at 625 Marshall Street in Little Rock.

A winner will be chosen from the following grade levels: 4-6th grade, 7-9th grade, and 10-12th grade.

When submitting an entry, please indicate the contestant’s grade level. Essays should be no more than 500 words. If submitting art, please include a brief description of the piece and its meaning. 

Submit your entries to Karen Steward.

By e-mail:

By mail:

Karen Steward 
Arkansas Justice Building
625 Marshall Street
Little Rock, AR 72201

Or, drop by the Justice Building to drop off your entry!

If you have any questions, call Karen at 501-410-1935.

We look forward to seeing your work!


Law Day, held annually on May 1, is a national day set aside to celebrate the rule of law. Law Day underscores how law and the legal process contribute to the freedoms that all Americans share. In 1957, American Bar Association President Charles S. Rhyne, a Washington, D.C. attorney, envisioned a special day for celebrating our legal system. A year later, President Dwight D. Eisenhower established Law Day as a day of national dedication to the principles of government under law. Congress, by joint resolution, designated May 1 as the official date for celebrating Law Day in 1961.

The Arkansas Supreme Court is made up of seven justices who are elected in statewide, non-partisan races and serve eight-year terms. The Court operates as a court-of-review for lower court decisions that are appealed, ensuring that the constitutional right of Arkansans to contest court decisions are met. Justices on the Arkansas Supreme Court come from all areas of the state: Mountain View, Conway, Fayetteville, Fordyce, Mountain Home, and Clinton. In 2015, Arkansas became one of about a dozen state supreme courts with a female majority.