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FINDINGS AND ORDER

The formal charges of misconduct against James Andrew Marshall upon which this
Findings and Order is based arose from a grievance filed by Dudley Mahon. Marshall is an
atlorney practicing primarily in Conway, Arkansas.

On April 25,2019, the Supreme Court of Arkansas issued a Per Curiam listing all
Arkansas attorneys who were suspended as a result of failing to pay 2019 annual attorney-license
fee. As stated in the Per Curiam, the listed attorneys were “automatically suspended on April 16,
2019, by operation of Rule V1I(C) and shall not practice law in the State of Arkansas until
reinstated or except during a stay of the suspension...” Per the April 25, 2019 Per Curiam,
Marshall was suspended from the practice of law on April 16, 2019, for failing to pay his
attorney-license fee. Per a second Per Curiam issued on June 20, 2019, Marshall remained
suspended as he had still not taken steps to bring his license fees current.

In or about July 2019, Anitha Carter (“Carter”) contacted Marshall to represent her in a
matter relating to her late husband’s estate and a related dispute. On July 6, 2019, Carter met
with Marshall at her home in Jacksonville and paid Marshall $1,500 by check. Carter provided
Marshall with all of her original paperwork regarding the estate and the dispute. On August 19,
2019, Carter met with Marshall in his office in Conway, and Carter’s friend Mahon was also
present for this meeting at Carter’s invitation. At the August 19 meeting, Carter paid Marshall

$500 and also signed a representation agreement. Also in the August 19 meeting, Marshall went
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over a letter that he would be sending to Carter’s previous attorney, Michael Knollmeyer, and
Carter signed off on this letter. On August 26, 2019, Marshall came to Carter’s parking lot in
Jacksonville to pick up her $500 payment. Carter exchanged some text messages with Marshall,
but she has not had communication with him since October 28, 2019.

On November 26, 2019, Marshall confirmed to OPC that he spoke with the Clerk’s
Office and that there were no records of his annual dues being paid in 2019.

Marshall filed a Motion to File a Belated Response which Panel A granted for good cause
shown. The Motion is accepted as a timely Response.

Upon consideration of the formal complaint and attached exhibit materials, the response
{o it, and other matters before i, and the Arkansas Rules of Professional Conduct, Pane] A of the
Arkansas Supreme Court Committee on Professional Conduct finds:

1. James Andrew Marshall violated Arkansas Rule 3.4(c), when after being automatically
suspended from the practice of law for failure to pay his 2019 license fee, Marshall continued to
engage in the practice of law while suspended. Arkansas Rule 3.4(c) requires that a lawyer shall
not knowingly disobey an obligation under the rules of a tribunal except for an open refusal
based on an assertion that no valid obligation exists.

2. James Andrew Marshall violated Arkansas Rule 8.4(d), when by continuing to practice
law afier being automatically suspended on April 16, 2019, James Andrew Marshall engaged in
conduct that is prejudicial to the administration of justice. Arkansas Rule 8.4(d) requires that a
lawyer shall not engage in conduct that is prejudicial to the administration of justice.

WHEREFORE, it is the decision and order of the Arkansas Supreme Court Committee on
Professional Conduct, acting through its authorized Panel A, that James Andrew Marshall,

Arkansas Bar ID# 2014023 be, CAUTIONED for his conduct in this matter, ordered to pay
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Restitution in the amount of $2.500.00 10 Anitha Carter, and assessed Costs in the amount of
$500.00. The restitution and costs assessed, totaling $3.000.00. herein shall be payable by cashicr’s
cheek or money order payable to the “Clerk. Arkansas Supreme Court” delivered to the Office of
Professional Conduct within thirty (30) days of the date this Findings and Order is filed of record with the
Clerk of the Arkansas Supreme Court. In assessing a sanction, the attorney s prior disciplinary

record was not a factor.
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