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DOMESTIC RELATIONS/PROBATE ATTORNEYS AD LITEM 

GUIDELINES FOR AUTHORIZATION AND PAYMENT OF FEES  

PURSUANT TO ACT 708 OF 1999  

 

ARK. CODE ANN. § 9-13-101(e) & § 9-13-106(g) 

 

Act 708 of 1999, with pertinent provisions codified at ARK. CODE ANN. § 9-13-101(e) & 

§ 9-13-106, authorized the Administrative Office of the Courts to establish an attorney ad litem 

program in then-chancery court cases (now Domestic Relations Division of Circuit Court) and 

guardianship cases in probate court (now Probate Division of Circuit Court) where custody is an 

issue.  In furtherance of the Act, the General Assembly appropriated $50,000.00 in FY 99-00 and 

$100,000.00 in FY 00-01 with which to reimburse attorneys.  Pursuant to the Act, the 

Administrative Office of the Courts (“AOC”) prepared a funding formula for apportionment of 

the funds to ensure that each judicial circuit had access to the funds.  The formula was approved 

by the Arkansas Judicial Council and by the Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the 

Arkansas Legislative Council, in conformity with Act 708. In 2022, the formula was modified to 

provide funds for all courts throughout the state on a first come, first served basis. The current 

appropriation for the state is $396,750.00 a year. In 2023, the maximum hourly rate was 

increased from $90.00 per hour to $125.00 per hour. This increase is effective as of July 1, 2023, 

so that all work performed prior to July 1, 2023, is billed at $90.00 per hour.  

  

 

The following guidelines for the authorization and payment of fees to be paid from the 

appropriation are adopted pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 9-13-101 (e)(6).  The maximums for 

fees (number 4 below) apply when any portion of the costs of the attorneys ad litem is ordered to 

be paid from state funds.  

 

1. When a circuit judge determines that an appointment of an attorney ad litem would 

facilitate a domestic relations or probate case in which custody is an issue and would 

further protect the rights of the child, the judge may appoint a private attorney to 

represent the child. 

 

2. To be considered for appointment, an attorney must meet the prescribed standards of 

practice and qualifications adopted by the Arkansas Supreme Court and set out in  

Administrative Order Number 15.  In extraordinary cases, the trial court may appoint an 

attorney ad litem who does not meet the required standards and qualifications.  The 

attorney may not be appointed in subsequent cases, however, until he or she has made 

efforts to meet the standards and qualifications.  Attorneys who serve as an attorney ad 

litem shall file with the trial court a fee petition for services rendered and any out-of-

pocket expenses.    

 

3. The judge shall review and approve the fee which shall be contained in an order of the 

court.  The judge or the attorney shall then transmit a copy of the order to the AOC, 
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which is authorized to pay the attorney.  This action shall not limit the ability of the court 

to require the parties to pay all or a portion of the expenses, depending upon the ability of 

the parties to pay. 

 

4. If a circuit judge appoints an attorney ad litem and determines that the parties can afford 

to pay the attorney ad litem’s fee without state assistance, the judge can approve any fee 

the judge finds reasonable.  However, if the judge authorizes part or all of the attorney ad 

litem fee to be paid by the state the judge shall not approve an hourly rate in excess of 

$125.00 per hour for either the portion to be paid by the state or the portion to be paid by 

the litigants.  In addition, the judge may award out-of-pocket expenses including long-

distance telephone calls, mileage at the approved state rate, witness fees, and other 

incidental costs.  The total award to be paid from the appropriation in any single case 

shall not exceed $1,250.00.  If a case is completed and then reopens, the case is eligible 

for additional payment, up to $1,250.00 for each reopening.   

 

5. An attorney who receives payment from state funds shall be required to complete a 

statistical survey prepared by the AOC which will include information about the amount 

of time expended on the case and the type of services provided. 

 

6. Orders for payment shall be received by June 1 of each fiscal year, or by a date set by the 

AOC.  The AOC shall pay each of the ordered amounts from the appropriation for that 

fiscal year, in the order they are received.  Once the funds appropriated for this purpose 

have been expended, the Administrative Office of the Courts shall have no further 

obligation to pay for attorney ad litem services in that fiscal year. 

 

7. The AOC shall maintain and distribute to the circuit judges, on a monthly basis, the status 

of the funds available.  The AOC also shall prepare an accounting on a quarterly basis of 

all funds distributed for review by the Arkansas Supreme Court. 
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