## **Supreme Court and Court of Appeals Conduct Investitures**

The Arkansas Supreme Court and Court of Appeals held investiture ceremonies in January for newly elected and re-elected members. Former Court of Appeals Judges Karen Baker and Courtney Henry were sworn in as new Justices on the Supreme Court, replacing Justices Ron Sheffield and Elana Wills, respectively. The Court of Appeals swore in re-elected Judges Robert Gladwin/District 3, Position 1 and Jo Hart/District 2, Position 1, along with newly elected Judge Robin Wynne/District 5.

(See Investitures next page)



Justice Karen Baker is sworn in by retired Justice Annabelle Imber Tuck.



Justice Courtney Hudson Henry takes the the Oath of Office administered by Chief Justice Hannah.



Court of Appeals Judge Jo Hart takes the Oath of Office given to her by Justice Karen Baker.



Judge Robert Gladwin is sworn in by Chief Justice Hannah.

#### (Investitures continued)

In addition, Governor Beebe has made two appointments for the Court of Appeals. Cliff Hoofman of Enola has been appointed to replace Judge Karen Baker in District 2, Position 2, and Doug Martin of Fayetteville has been chosen to take Judge Courtney Henry's District 3, Position 2 spot.



Court of Appeals Judge Robin Wynne is sworn in by Circuit Judge David Guthrie/13th Circuit.

## New Circuit Clerks Using Contexte Case Management Meet



Pictured (I to r): Pulaski County Circuit/County Clerk - Larry Crane, Hempstead County Circuit Clerk - Gail Wolfenbarger, Hot Spring County Circuit Clerk - Mayme Brown, Garland County Circuit Clerk - Jeannie Pike, Garland County County Clerk - Sarah Smith and Searcy County Circuit/County Clerk - Debbie Loggins.

The AOC CIS Division held an orientation meeting in December for new Circuit Clerks in counties that are currently using or soon to be using the Contexte Program for

case management. Two other counties with new Circuit Clerks who were unable to attend the orientation meeting are Saline and Sebastian Counties.

### Two Court Foreign Language Interpreters Receive Certification



Ashley Simmons (left) and Marta Yadira Call proudly display their certificates and court interpreting badges after the ceremony.

The Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) provides interpreting services for individuals who have a limited ability to understand English, are deaf or hard of hearing, or are unable to speak. The AOC is charged with the responsibility for the certification of foreign language interpreters for non-English speaking parties or witnesses in the state and local courts of Arkansas.

After successfully completing the necessary requirements, two foreign language interpreters have been added to the list of certified interpreters. Ashley Simmons and Marta Yadira Call received their official certificates from Chief Justice Jim Hannah in a ceremony conducted in November.

## **Faulkner County Celebrates Completion of Case Management Implementation**

Faulkner County Circuit Court recently hosted a reception celebrating the implementation of CourtConnect, a new program that makes court documents available online. Records from both civil and criminal cases in the circuit and district courts are available online at caseinfo.aoc.arkansas.gov. In 2001, the Administrative Office of the Courts received a grant and state funding to upgrade the courts' computer systems. The **AOC's Court Information System's** division began putting the program together with a goal of eventually moving to a completely electronic system.

Circuit Judge David Reynolds volunteered Faulkner County to be a pilot program for the CourtConnect program. As a pilot program, the courthouse received



Gathering together for a picture at the reception were: (1-r) Alex Rogers-Program Manager/CIS (Court Information Systems), Tim Holthoff-Court Information Systems Director, Rhonda Long-Wharton-Faulkner County Circuit Clerk, Melinda Reynolds-Faulkner County Clerk, Beau Nelson-Project Manager, J.D. Gingerich-Director/AOC, 20th Circuit Judge Rhonda Wood, and Associate Justice Paul Danielson.

upgraded hardware, wireless Internet and all the necessary equipment to run the program for free. Case information is now available on the CourtConnect website for courts in Faulkner, Garland, Hot Spring, Pulaski, Searcy and Van Buren counties.

# **New Trial Judges Attend Orientation**

New trial judges attended a three-day work shop at the Justice Building in December. The agenda included sessions on case management, judicial ethics, civil, criminal, juvenile, probate and domestic relations cases, conducting a trial and evidence.



Judges pictured left to right: Joanna Taylor/4th Cir., Elizabeth Storey Byran/4th Cir., Susan Hickey/13th Cir., Brent Haltom/8th South Cir., Leon Johnson/6th Cir., Annie Powell Hendricks/12th Cir., and Wendell Griffen/6th. Cir. (Not pictured L. T. Simes/1st Cir.)

#### District Court Building Renamed in Honor of Judge Russell L. "Jack" Roberts

The City of Conway held a dedication ceremony in November for the Faulkner County District Court building. Earlier in the year, the City Council, along with Mayor Tab Townsell, renamed the District Court building the Russell L. "Jack" Roberts District Court Building in honor of Judge Roberts who had served as District Court Judge in Faulkner County for 27 years and passed away in June, 2010.



Sincere condolences are sent to the family and friends of retired **Circuit Judge Randall Williams** — 11th
Judicial District West, who passed away in December at the age of 86. Judge Williams had served on the bench in the 11th Circuit for 23 years (1970-1993).

# New faces in the Judiciary

#### **AOC**

Stephanie Smith – ADR/Dir. of Access & Visitation Stephanie Hays – ADR/Training & Programs Coordinator Sonya Morgan – Jury Business Analyst/ACAP

#### **District Court Judges**

Conway County – **Howard C. Yates** replaces J. Scott Adams.

#### **District Court Clerks**

Saline County/Alexander Dept. – **Pam Madison** replaces Jennifer Newkirk

#### **City Court Judges**

Vilonia – Stephen Hawks.

#### **Trial Court Assistants**

6th Cir., Div. 10 (Warren) **Gregory Shoptaw** replaces Tommi

Myers Fell.

#### **Official Court Reporter**

6th Cir., Div. 10 (Warren)

Meredith Pinkstone replaces

Laura Carnahan.

11th West, Div. 6 (Brown) **Pat Works** replaces Tammy Propst.

10th Cir., Div. 3 (Gibson) **Sherry Parker-East** replaces Leta Taylor.

7th Cir., Div. 2 (Edwards) **Reni Irby** replaces Nancy Davis.

### **CALENDAR**

11

3-4

1-3

February
District & City Court
Clerks Certification
(2nd & 4th Districts)
(Hot Springs)

District Court 17-18 Officers (Fayetteville)

#### March

Trial Court Assistants Conference (Little Rock)

#### April

District Judges 28-29
Spring College/District Court
Clerks Annual Meeting
(Rogers)

#### June

CMP, Class 2013

(Little Rock)

Spring Judicial College/
Judicial Council meeting
(Hot Springs)

CMP, Class 2012
(Little Rock)

CMP, Class 2011

22-24

CMP, Class 2011 (Little Rock)





# Friends of the Court is a bi-monthly publication by the Arkansas Administrative Office of the Courts. Contributions, comments, and inquiries

are welcome.
Please submit to
Friends of the Court,
A.O.C., Justice Building,
625 Marshall,
Little Rock, AR 72201.
Tel. (501) 682-9400.
Karolyn Bond, Editor.



#### **Friends of the Court**

Administrative Office of the Courts Justice Building/625 Marshall Little Rock, AR 72201

Address Correction Requested